Top 10 Reasons you GROW at the office, but not the way you want to.

For the past 10 years I’ve worked the “office job”.

Around the office, you hear the word “GROWTH” a lot. From company growth, to sales growth, department growth, the list goes on.

What I’ve noticed about the word “GROWTH” is that employees take it “literally”.

The reason I say this, is because I was a victim of getting fat from my office job. I started working at Dell computers in 2003 weighing in at 150lbs at around 9-12% body-fat. A year later I noticed I couldn’t fit into the same winter clothes I was wearing when I first started, my weight shot up to 185lbs, and I was too embarrassed to check my body fat at that time!

I was in my early 20’s, and my girlfriend at the time said she liked me “bigger”. A few months later we broke up, I realized that it was a lot harder for me to pick up girls and have confidence in myself because I didn’t even find myself attractive.

I had to make changes and make them fast as I was single again and back on the market.

Over the year’s I’ve also seen this happen to many of my co workers. Below is a list of my top 10 reasons employees get FAT at the office and how to avoid them.

The picture on the left was taken January 2011 after a few weeks of bad habits at the office (see list below), I weighed 165lbs. The Picture on the right was taken 90 days after I changed my lifestyle and habits at the workplace to get my body back in shape for the summer at a leaner and meaner 150lbs.

1) Not drinking enough fluids. Try to get 2-3 Litres of water a day. Personally avoid excess juices or sodas as they are loaded with sugars or artificial sugars. All the added sugar on top of sitting at your desk is a gut waiting to happen

2) Your co workers can have a big influence on your habits at the office. If your peers ask you to go out for wings and beers after work, it’s not a bad thing occasionally. Don’t make it a daily thing and if you do, try to stick to a light beer or wine and keep it to a minimal amount. Instead of chicken wings try to find a healthier alternative on the menu like a salad. I personally suggest healthier activities after work such as paintball, working out or martial arts with my co workers.

3) Instead of having coffee loaded with the fatty creams, milks and sugars try green tea and use a raw honey or agave as a sweetener. You can cut out a ton of calories if you avoid just the creams and milks from your coffee.

4) The daily commute, sitting in your car followed by sitting at your desk adds up to a lot of inactivity. If you live close enough to work and the weather is good, walk or bike ride to work

5) Being inactive. Once again sitting at your desk all day, burns very little calories. Make sure you take your breaks and get up and walk around the office or outside and talk to your peers.

6) Whenever you can burn calories at work, do it! Instead of parking at the closest spot, park at the farthest spot and walk extra to get to work. Instead of taking the elevator, take the stairs to the floor you work on.

7) Starting your day off on the wrong foot. Instead of rushing out of bed to get to work, Set your alarm clock to wake up 15-20 minutes earlier than usual and do a quick full body workout. You’ll be surprised how invigorated you feel after you’ve completed your morning workout.

5 sets
20 prisoner squats
20 push ups
20 crunches and 60 second plank

8) Get ready to workout the night before. Pack your gym bag the night before and bring it to work. By bringing your bag to work with all your gym clothes you’re already making a commitment to go because you have to lug it back.

9) Stress at work happens. When you suffer from stress, it increases your cortisol levels which causes your metabolism to slow down. This ultimately leads to feeling lethargic, or to “Emotional Eating” craving sugary or salty foods to make you feel better. In order to combat stress at work I get up from my desk and leave that environment for a few minutes to relax. If your office has a breakout room or meeting room sit in there for a few minutes and relax or go for a walk to clear your mind. Also, yoga is a great way to relieve stress. I downloaded “OFFICE YOGA $0.99 from app store” for my iPhone and I do a few exercises throughout the day.

10) Keep a cupboard free and keep your multivitamins, and protein powders at the office. If you have a bag of protein at your desk, you’re more than likely going to drink that as opposed to going to the vending machine to get a bag of chips.

4 responses

  1. This is great advice, Christian! Your full body morning workout is a gem. One way I think we all get fatter at work is by indulging in take-out lunches almost every day of the week. I’d love to see an article on healthy lunch ideas that are filling, interesting, and easy to prepare. Keep writing – this blog is full of fabulous stuff!

  2. Thanks for all of the effort on this website. My mum takes pleasure in conducting research and it’s really easy to understand why. We all hear all about the compelling mode you convey informative things via the blog and as well as attract participation from other ones on that subject plus our daughter is undoubtedly being taught a great deal. Take pleasure in the rest of the new year. You’re doing a superb job.

Leave a Reply

