Hangover this weekend? This Detox Drink will make Gamma Rays look like Flashlights

No matter how “Green” you are. If you drink too much alcohol the night before, a hangover the next morning is inevitable! Just look at the incredible hulk in this picture.

20120329-211252.jpg

This week I’m delivering one of my all time favorite detox drinks. Over the past month I’ve been making one of these every morning as part of my daily routine, this will keeps you regular and provides you with a boost of energy every morning with the kick it has in flavours.

If you’re following an Intermittent fasting diet, this drink is just under 100 calories which stays within the rules of a IF protocol, for beverages allowed. Although, I wouldn’t recommend drinking more than 1 a day. It’s completely natural and loaded with fibre and antioxidants from all the plants that you use for this.

Not only do the antioxidants help sober you up but this smoothie will help clean out your digestive system with the amount of fibre in it. A perfect remedy if you wake up with “gut rot” from hard alcohol.

I actually first heard about this “green” drink from comedian and UFC fighter Joe Rogan. Joe claims that fellow actor Kevin James drank one of these every morning as part of his detox and it helped him lose 60lbs. What do you think?!

20120329-205001.jpg

So Here’s what you’ll need from your fridge.

1/2 Cucumbers
2 Leaves of Kale
Celery
Pear
Ginger
1/2 cup of water

and of course a blender!

I prefer to make this drink in blender as opposed to a juicer so I can preserve all the nutrients from the ingredients, take all of your ingredients. Mix them into a blender until everything turns to a smooth liquid and enjoy!

20120329-211333.jpg

The HAMS Network (Alcohol Harm reduction support) claims that alcohol depletes your body of vitamins. So in order to help cure your hangover, if you load yourself up with this extremely “green” vitamin rich smoothie it’ll replenish those lost vitamins and balance you out. The ginger by itself is a powerful natural remedy. Sailors use natural ginger in their tea to help cure sea sickness. If you wake up with an upset stomach along with your hangover, ginger is great to helping aid in stomach digestion.

Resource index: http://www.hamsnetwork.org

Watch Joe Rogan make this smoothie, and go over his supplement stack which is similar to mine.

Disclaimer:  Please drink responsibly and not drink and drive, and let me know what you think of this detox smoothie.

Personally, I love the taste. Some of my friends won’t even look at it, or even try it. Feedback is appreciated and share this remedy also to all your alcoholic co-workers.

4 responses

  1. So I tried this today and it’s not bad. I really liked the ginger. I added a little more water then it called for just to thin it a little more, but I think tomorrow I’m going to try OJ. I know it will add sugar but I need to flavor this up a little if I going to keep this up. Do you make This fresh everyday or are you storing it in batches, also how much are you drinking? I drank a med juice glass and it seemed like plenty.
    Thanks
    Marc

    • Hi Marc, Yes try the OJ out, I have a few friends who do this with blueberries to keep it as natural as possible. I make this fresh every day. I find that if I store it in batches the plants tend to settle at the bottom and I have a big gump of veggies that isn’t to pleasing to swallow. Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

