Yesterday you said Tomorrow

If it’s one thing I learned about competing and winning in bodybuilding competitions at an early age was that big goals are accomplished by many small steps. At the beginning of April I decided I wanted to do a fitness photo shoot for my blog, and get into the best shape possible. What I remember most and what’s most important to getting into the best shape of your life is that the little things that you have to do to get better every day.

Now this is a lot easier said than done, and can be applied to your big goals outside of getting into the best shape possible. Think about all the “should have” or “I wish I did that” on your list. Look inside and be truthful and then ask yourself: What would be different if I just did that? or What would be different in my life if I did just a little bit every day?

It’s impossible to achieve your big goals all at once. I’ll hear people who are really struggling to make time to work out and when they look at fitness magazines or see somebody with their shirt off (male) on TV they’ll say “I want a body like that” and they think that it can be done overnight. The problem is many people want to take on their big goals all at once, yet too often we are trying to tackle this all at once which in turn leads to stress, frustration and ultimately failure.

So why is the concept doing a little bit every day so hard? That’s because it takes loads of self-discipline. Having self-discipline is the most coveted of all human traits, and converesly procrastination is the most common. It’s very easy for us to say that I’ll work out tomorrow, or I’ll start my diet after next weekend. The problem is that there is no reward for procrastination. Lack of discipline will take away from your success. We procrastinate because it’s very easy to do and we distance ourselves from the goals we have in mind. Procrastination is easy but the cost is great.

So how do we break the procrastination cycle? When you have a goal, when you really desire something you will find the will to do it and become dedicated to it. With fitness and getting into shape I’ve made it my goal to stay in shape, but I want to be in the best shape possible for summer time. So I’ve made my diet, my training and the decisions I make all part of my daily lifestyle and rituals such as brushing my teeth.

The key to being happy, the key to success, the key to really getting what you want is to pu that little effort in every day. Don’t wait another moment to get your bucket list checked off, do a little bit to fill that list up some more and accomplish it all.

I wanted to share with you my progression from April 11th to May 4th for my website fitness photo shoot. I started off at 158lbs and the picture on the right is me at 153 lbs. I’ll keep you updated on my progression next week and look forward to seeing you achieve all your goals!

Please let me know your feedback and have any questions, thank you so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

